Student News

Congratulations to Collette White ’20 Art History Minor for being selected for the RISD Museum Guild!

The Museum Guild is a group of undergraduate students from local colleges and universities who are advocates and ambassadors for the RISD Museum and interpreters of its collection and exhibitions. Working as a group and with the guidance of the museum’s Academic Programs staff, Guild members explore questions of current relevance at the museum, developing projects and programs that activate the galleries and connect students and faculty to the museum.

The on line version of the PC Art Journal 2019 is now available. Please see the wonderful work by our recent graduates: Vivienne Strmecki, Mary Grace Day, Rita Murphy, Noreen McGonigle, Isabella Christilles, Catherine Day, Liv D’Elia, Marcus Karamanolis, Amy Pineda, Jessica Rogers and Grace Sneesby. Congratulations to our students!

Students in our department received 2018-19 Undergraduate Research Awards:
Modernizing Classic Figures from the 20th Century, Olivia D’Elia’19, Studio Art Photography, Faculty Mentor: Eric Sung, Photography.
Concerning Dinner, Isabella Christilles’19, Studio Art, Faculty Mentor: Stephen Lacy, Art and Art History.
Contemporary Significance of Craft and Pattern, Jessica Rogers’19, Studio Art, Faculty Mentor: Judd Schiffman, Art and Art History.

Nikki Silva’19 Political Science Major|Sociology Major, Studio Art Photography Minor is in the Master of Fine Arts program at the School of Museum of Fine Arts at Tufts University in Boston MA this fall 2019.

The team representing Providence College tied for third place in the inaugural BIG EAST Conference Startup Challenge on March 16, 2019. During the challenge, held at St. John’s University’s Manhattan campus, teams of student entrepreneurs from all 10 BIG EAST schools presented ideas for innovations and products to a panel of judges made up of BIG EAST alumni.

Eric Sung, Associate Professor of Photography and Director of the Business and Innovation minor program directed the team members. This minor has a track in Design Thinking. The members of the team were Hannah Araujo ’21, Arianna Arroyo ’20, Ashley Gigon ’22, Steph Gilet ’21, Daniel Keating ’20 and Emily Tabeek ’19.